The year kicks off in a clear direction

Happy New Year everyone. I hope that you all had a safe and joyous holiday season.

I am now mostly caught up on the slush pile after the break. As it turns out, even writers seem to take a break over the holidays. At least they were not submitting too much while I was gone. Still, I have found myself strained at the time away from my connection to the Internet. With the new allocation of time to all things related to the magazine and the acquisition of a smart phone over the holidays, I feel more connected than at any other point in my life. In the non-internet world, I am not a particularly social person.

This feeling has much to do with one of the directions that I intend to take this blog. For the foreseeable future, I intend on writing about the role of technology (specifically the Internet) on many aspects of the publishing industry, covering aspects conceived as good and bad.

My views of publishing have been greatly affected by my experience in web development, an activity that I’ve been involved with for nearly as long as I have been ‘writing.’ As a developer, I have had a great deal of exposure to the open source movement, a community individuals freely writing and exchanging programing code for software development. Although this method of exchange does not directly pertain to many applications, the mentality of free exchange of information has drastically expanded with the growing use of economically available internet access.

For this reason, I am taking the open source approach to providing any information that I can about how to create a web presence. These posts will be direct to authors and upstart small press and online publishers. I have just set up a topic thread at the Port Iris Forum. Feel free to stop by, post any questions or comments, and read what others might have to say.

In the near future, expect to see posts here on the following tentative topics:
   Do I have web presence, and why that such a big deal?
   Do I have to have a web page? What else might work?
   The effective use of social networks
   and more to come.

-Casey

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

